top of page

UPAAT celebrates accomplishments at the Annual General Assembly

By: Gretchen Mangahas

The Kalayaan Community Centre in Mississauga was filled with jovial UPAAT members as they eagerly filled the hall to attend the Annual General Meeting (AGM) on April 30, 2022. Previously held virtually for two years due to pandemic restrictions, members reconnected in-person once again to review the activities and programs implemented by the council.

UPAAT Accomplishments

UPAAT President Agnes Manasan called the meeting to order followed by the singing of the Canadian, Philippine and UP anthems led by Olivia Camacho. The president's report gave an overview of accomplishments mostly led by the committees that held online and small group activities to traverse the challenges brought by COVID-19. Some highlighted activities include the following:

Education and Awareness Committee - Culture and History Talks; Mentoring Program

Socials and Events Committee - Whine and Wine; Hello Kapitbahay

Fundraising Committee - Sagip Pilipinas (Bingo and Zumba for a cause

Publications and Promotions Committee - Project Pag-aaruga (TCDSB internship), Kaganapan Newsletter

Scholarship recepients:

Endowment Funds: Kint Ynnos B. Llevares

Non-Endowment Funds: Jena Carla de Guzman, Arianne Rikka Baladad, Kristine Ella Baduria

Adopt a Scholar Program (UPLB): John Angelo Cajudo, Renz Phil Ongco, Angelin Isabelle Ulayao

Kaagapay sa Pag-aaral : Five students from UP Baguio, Tacloban, Leyte, Cebu & Mindanao

New Council Members

This year, UPAAT welcomed five new council members: Viviene dela Cruz, Yona Harvey, Patrick Alcedo, Norma Bernal and Nova de Leon. They were all proclaimed as official council members and will serve for three years. Members said thank you and goodbye to outgoing council members Mayrose Salvador, Diana Roldan, Janet Tagaza, Ramon Solis and Leo Mascarinas who all served very well during their term.

WATCH the Video Recording of the UPAAT here:

bottom of page