UPAAT welcomes new Executive Council Members

By: Gretchen Mangahas

Five new council members join the UPAAT Executive Council as Alice Herrera leaves her post as long-time president (2015-2018; 2018-2021) together with four other exceptional council members.

Joining Alice’s farewell are council members who ended their term (2018-2021): Tess Michelle Montojo, Vice President and Fundraising Committee head; Patth Ramirez, Membership Committee head; Alfredo Natal, Jr., Information and Technology Committee head; and Vanessa Paglicauan, Treasurer.

Agnes Manasan, BS Social Work (1976), Alex Raul Pascua, BS Industrial Engineering, Ernesto Villaroya, BS Administration (1971), Helen Balderama, BA Philosophy (2000), and Marie Masongsong, BS Math (1986) were declared as the new batch of council members during the second virtual Annual General Meeting on April 10 filling in the five open spots for the elections this year.

Passing on the baton to new officers

“It has been a great six-year journey for me being the President of UPAAT. I am only passing the baton to the next President but I have no intention of leaving UPAAT,” said Alice when asked how she felt about leaving her post as the head of the association for six years. She believes that her greatest achievements include the increased member participation in activities, continuous provision of scholarships, and engagement of members in events. Alice added that this couldn’t have been made possible without the support of the council members. She encourages the new council members and new set of officers to “keep the fire burning.”

Agnes Manasan accepts this challenge as the new President following the election of officers held on April 21, 2021. “I am gratified to inherit an alumni association that is vibrant with a strong foundation that has attracted new members mainly due to the hard work of my predecessors,” said Agnes. She added that she intends to continue the projects of the various committees and strategize ways on getting more members engaged.